AP Test Scores

College Board sent AP scores to my university, UT Austin, a few days before I sending them officially through mail. You could also pay $8 to get the scores through telephone as early as June 1, but that seemed like a waste of time. It might make decisions about which classes to take easier for incoming college freshmen, though. Here are the scores and how they apply to my degree requirements.

Calculus BC: 5 as predicted. BC wipes out all math requirements for business; however, I need the next class in the sequence, multivariable calculus, for computer science.

English Literature & Composition: 5 as predicted. This score wipes out my core humanities credit, required by both degrees.

Chemistry: 4, though I predicted a 5. This was my one disappointment. I was very confident during the actual test though. But it makes more sense considering the grades I got in the class. This test completes a science track, of which I need two. I have three science tracks, so this is a bit superfluous. I realized that I should have taken some other class that fulfills a requirement, namely AP Psychology, which fulfills a social science credit.

European History: 5 as predicted. The only history I need is American History. I’m pretty sure this only counts as an elective credit. I don’t need elective credits really, because my CS classes will count as electives for business and my business classes will count as electives for CS.

Physics C: 4 on Mechanics and 5 on Electricity & Magnetism. I was really surprised with this one. I predicted I would get something like a 3, if that. The only explanation is that the curves on the exams are ridiculous. All of my other friends were surprised too. I realize  just because I got the scores I did doesn’t in any way make me as qualified as having taken the classes in college. For CS, this satisfies a science track. But for business, just taking credit for Physics B is enough. I can’t take credit for both Physics B and C for business. Both satisfy core requirements, but I don’t know why there is this discrepancy.

Macroeconomics: 5 as predicted. I need both micro and macroeconomics to declare a major in business in my sophomore year. This test gets me on my way to doing that.

Microeconomics: 4 as predicted. This was the only AP test I’ve ever taken that I was unsure about getting credit for. Luckily, a 4 gives credit for microeconomics. As I had only self-studied the night before for this exam, I surely don’t have the knowledge I’d have if I took the actual class. However, I’m not too keen on taking microeconomics, so I’ll use the credit. I think I got the general principles of micro down though. I don’t think the specific graphs and other details will be referenced much in later business classes, so I’m probably fine claiming credit for this exam.

Government: 5 as predicted. This test, coupled with the Texas government test that I took at orientation, gets rid of one of the two government credits I need.

Overall, the scores were satisfactory. Over the past three years, I’ve taken 16 AP tests, of which 12 were 5s and 4 were 4s, an average of 4.75. I received full credit for all of them. They cost me $924, but saved me much more money. I haven’t calculated exactly how many credits I received through AP tests, but at the rate of $500 per credit hour, I think I got a significant return on investment.

3 comments
  1. Tiffany said:

    Unfortunately, UT also charges $6 per credit hour claimed. I thought it was 6 per class.

    Also, I don’t know a single person who did poorly on any AP exam this year, which I find odd and slightly distressing.

    • WHAAAAT! I didn’t know they charged money for credit. In that case, I wont claim credit for electives.

  2. vansi said:

    Dude, take it easy and enjoy college, ive heard many regret stories of kids going through college fast and realizing they missed out on a once in a lifetime opportunity. So enjoy a bit too dude.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

